2019 Keynote: Ted Zarrow

About Ted Zarrow


 We are pleased to introduce Ted Zarrow, the speaker for the 2019 conference!

Before earning his PhD in Classics and Ancient History from Yale in 2007, Dr. Edward "Ted" Zarrow received an M.St. in Greek & Roman History from Brasenose College, Oxford, and an M.A. in Classical Languages from Boston College.

In 2007, he made the transition from teaching in college to the high school environment, and he is currently in his 11th year teaching Latin (and sometimes Greek) at Westwood High School in Westwood, MA.

He is the past-President of the Classical Association of Massachusetts (CAM), the Coordinator of Educational Programs for the Classical Association of New England (CANE), Advocacy Coordinator for the Massachusetts Foreign Language Association (MaFLA), and the Massachusetts representative to the National Council of State Supervisors of Foreign Languages (NCSSFL). He has won numerous teaching awards at both the high school and college levels for his unorthodox approaches to teaching language, history, & culture, and he is regarded as a national language advocate. He was the ACTFL 2016 National Language Teacher of the Year.

Past Keynote Speakers:

2018: Linda Egnatz
2017: Bonnie Adair-Hauck
2016: Yo Azama
2015: Toni Theisen
2014: Bill VanPatten
2013: John De Mado
2012: Richard Donato
2011: Duarte Silva
2010: Emily Spinelli
2009: Miles Turnbull
2008: Renate Schultz
2007: June K. Phillips
2003: Carmen Chaves Tesser
2002: Nancy Gadbois
2001: G. Richard Tucker

2000: Frank Medley
1999: Marty Abbott
1998: Mimi Met
1997: Helene Zimmer-Loew
1996: Christine Brown
1995: Greg Duncan
1994: Claire Jackson
1993: Beverly Harris-Schenz
1992: Helena Curtain
1991: Heidi Byrnes
1990: Jeannette Bragger
1989: Bob Terry
1988: Dorothy James
1987: Toby Tamarkin
1986: Bill VanPatten

For daily updates, please LIKE us on Facebook:
and follow us on Twitter: IUP Spr Method Conf / @IUPMethodConf

All material contained within copyright of the Department of Foreign Languages at Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Department of Foreign Languages -
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
1011 South Drive
Indiana, PA 15705-1046
Phone: 724-357-7965 - Fax: 724-357-1268

Please LIKE us on Facebook: IUP Spring Methodology Conference on Foreign Language Teaching
URL: Copyright © 2014 DFL/IUP. All Rights Reserved. Last Updated 06/01/17
Thank you, Gracias, Merci, Danke schön, Arigatō, Xiexie